Book Blog – Shelf Renewal, from Booklist Online » Pop Culture
Booklist Online

Booklist Online: More than 130,000 book reviews for librarians, book groups, and book lovers - from the trusted experts at the American Library Association

| | | | | | | | | | |
Shelf Renewal Blog - Booklist Online

Shelf Renewal

A Booklist Blog
Nobody puts backlist in a corner—readers'-advisory experts Karen Kleckner Keefe and Rebecca Vnuk bring attention to older titles by featuring "dusty books" and offering read-alikes for what’s hot on the holds list.

Archive for the 'Pop Culture' Category

Fri, December 28th, 2012
Web Crush of the Week: The Millions
Posted by: Karen Kleckner Keefe

The Millions is an online magazine offering coverage on books, arts, and culture since 2003. The Millions distinguishes itself from other literary web sites by focusing more on original essays and reviews, not just linking to and commenting on book news found elsewhere. We’re particularly crushing on them today for their Year in Reading feature, […]


Mon, October 15th, 2012
Based on the [comic] Book
Posted by: Karen Kleckner Keefe

AMC’s hit zombie series The Walking Dead is back. Based on Robert Kirkman’s graphic novel series, The Walking Dead is just one example of how brilliantly illustrated stories can be brought to the screen. Superheroes continue to do well in both worlds (Avengers, Batman, Iron Man, The Hulk, Spiderman, Superman, X-Men), and there is a growing appreciation […]


Thu, October 4th, 2012
Halloween is coming… time for scary books!
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

In 2010, we asked Shelf Renewal readers to share their favorite scary books.  The responses are below, but I thought it might be time to ask again and get some new suggestions!  Leave a comment and let us know what books have scared the bejeebus out of you.  We’ll post them on Halloween.   From […]


Wed, August 22nd, 2012
A few more readalikes for Gone Girl
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

In June , Karen posted about my favorite book of the summer, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl,  (and I followed up with one more dusty fave).  I’m leery of overkill (but seriously!  best book I’ve read in a long time!), but I wanted to direct your attention to another of the fabulous Booklist blogs, Book Group […]


Thu, July 12th, 2012
Dusty Book: Story of My Life
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

I’m posting this one because Rielle Hunter’s memoir, What Really Happened, is out and making headlines for being a bust.  Perhaps people would rather read a novel where she was the model for the main character? In Jay McInerney’s (why oh why can I not manage to pronounce his last name correctly, ever?) slice-of-the-80s novel, […]


Thu, May 17th, 2012
Always looking for more sexytalk
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

So,  Karen has already offered read-alikes for Fifty Shades of Grey, but this recent blog post, “I’ll Show You Smut,” from our friend Nanette Donohue, gives an eye-opening look at more titles you can find on your library’s shelf while you languish on the hold list. She couches her list—a “Dirty Dozen Books that Brevard […]


Thu, April 19th, 2012
Earth Day Display
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

Sunday (4/22/2012) is Earth Day, and the fine folks over at Better World Books thought it was a great time of year to release their top 10 “green” books: 1. Natural Capitalism 2. The Lorax 3. An Inconvenient Truth 4. Silent Spring 5. Moral Ground 6. The Better World Shopping Guide 7. Hot, Flat and […]


Mon, April 16th, 2012
Under the Boardwalk…
Posted by: Rebecca Vnuk

Well here at Shelf Renewal, we’re all about stealing other people’s great ideas giving credit where credit is due.  We should have come up with a readalike list ourselves, but we don’t need to—David Wright, Guybrarian Extraordinaire at the Seattle Public Library, has created 2 separate lists of readalikes for Boardwalk Empire, over on their […]


Mon, April 9th, 2012
The Creativity Paradox
Posted by: Karen Kleckner Keefe

When asked where he gets his ideas, writer Philip Pullman usually responds, “I don’t know where they come from, but I know where they come to, they come to my desk. If I’m not there, they go away again, so you’ve got to sit and think.” We’re all aware of the irony of the discipline […]


Mon, April 2nd, 2012
Reading the Sixties
Posted by: Karen Kleckner Keefe

In a recent Telegraph article, James Walton claims that Mad Men is the most literary show on TV. He cites the influences of Richard Yates and John Cheever. Why not see if your patrons agree? Recommend these sixties-themed reads. (And if your library shares playlists with your users, boost interest in your CD collection with a swingin’ soundtrack.) […]





© 2014 Booklist Online. Powered by WordPress.
Quoted material should be attributed to:
Shelf Renewal (Booklist Online).




HOME | | AWARDS | GREAT READS | BLOGS | NEWSLETTERS | WEBINARS | MY ALERTS | MY LISTS | MY PROFILE | HELP | SUBSCRIBE
BOOKLIST PUBLICATIONS
American Library Association